Press "Enter" to skip to content

Hackers have reportedly figured out how to reactivate people’s canceled Netflix accounts and start charging them again for monthly subscriptions

Some Netflix customers who canceled their subscriptions were surprised to see new charges from the video-streaming service on their bank statements months later.

Those people’s accounts were reactivated by hackers without their knowledge, according to a new BBC report. The hackers didn’t need users’ bank information to reactivate their accounts — all they had to do was log in.

That’s because Netflix stores customer data for 10 months after someone cancels a subscription, according to the BBC, making it easier for people to rejoin after canceling.

Some Twitter users have complained about the oversight.

CONTINUE @ BUSINESS INSIDER